top of page
  • Writer's pictureHolly Evans

An Old Favourite



Hidden amongst the plethora of images I have captured and saved to my computer files, this snap is ingeniously titled: ‘Apple’... I’ve never been very good at naming my photos. However, for the purpose of this blog post, the decision to refer to this image as ‘An Old Favourite’ stems from the fact that this is one of the first photos I remember taking and editing since I got into photography that quickly became one of my favourites, and remains one of my favourites to this day.


It was taken in my kitchen using natural light from the window, which is reflected in the large water droplet on the top.

My photos are pretty much always taken in natural light. As a result, I often find the majority of my images to be overexposed. This one was no different, and required quite a bit of post-production editing to considerably darken the image. I liked this effect as it helped to minimise background distraction and bring more focus to the subject. Following from the point I made in my first blog post ‘Welcome!’, I am no professional; I utilise my laptop’s default editing application to touch up my photos.

These simple tools allow me to control effects such as lighting, colour, and vignette within my photos with minimal effort (or skill!)


Although I often admire many other photographers’ use of conceptual ideas within fine art photography, and have dabbled in Photoshop in the past during my A-Level studies, I am happy to ‘keep it simple’ when it comes to my own images.

Whilst it’s certainly not the most interesting of subjects, this photo is one of my favourites because of its simplicity. This random household object was plucked from the fruit bowl and unceremoniously dumped on the counter in the hopes it would inspire something interesting to photograph.

I decided to make this still life a tad more engaging by running some water over the surface. It was something about the large water droplet reflecting the light from the window that worked really well and made it one of my all-time favourite photos.


Thanks for reading,

H. x


Photo taken: 19/02/2016

25 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Welcome!

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page